Time to move on.

DemonicSandwich
Trollwich

Time to move on.

Post by DemonicSandwich »

I'm done with modding Halo 2.

In these past weeks as my family have slowly uprooted, and rerooted even slower, I've had time to think things through.
I graduated 2008, I'm now 20, and I have yet to start looking at my future. In fact to this day, I am unsure as to what I want to do with my future.
I have yet to even find my first legit job, though that's due entirely to the government and poor economy.
And even though there is still so much I want to do in H2X modding and this community, I have to move on.

It was a good run and it was very fun and worth while.
I've learned so much about the game structure and have done so many creative things with what I've learned.
I joined the Halomods community mid 2006, near the peak of H2X modding. I saw so many creations, so many unique ideas, so much creativity. Before this, I never thought such a world existed outside of minor glitches.

I did not predict being able to fly around the map with a camera, being able to drive a Warthog with a tank turret. Or having weapons from single player and even other games!
I've seen race tracks that really produce a challenging course to follow, map skins that would be nothing short than a work of art, new sets of unique weapons to change game play tactics, and even completely new levels made from the very machines we walked on in Campaign, I've seen level conversions previously thought impossible to accomplish but a select few saw otherwise.

I've witnessed so many advances as fellow modders wanted to expand on the game's structures. Applications as complex as Entity and Insolence to change nearly any structure in the map to single purpose apps for creating new effects. . A sbsp viewer that renders the map like it would ingame and lets you skin at the same time.
Back down to an app to FTP the maps. And even apps to edit in real time.